A broken shoe, parking lot traffic jam, and the continued job search

First off, I have a prayer request. My second cousin Austin, who’s several years younger than me, had an accident on a dirt bike today. He has three fractures in his jaw, a broken shoulder, many broken ribs, collapsed lungs, and some brain trauma. As of 9:00pm he was in surgery where they’re putting three plates and screws in his jaw and tubes in his chest so the lungs will inflate.

How was our first night in our cozy Boulder apartment? Alise and I stayed up until 2:00 am talking and talking about our lives, our dreams, our hopes and some of our mistakes. It was a good time for girlfriends.

We both slept in a little this morning; once I got up I worked for Pleasant Hill Grain for a few hours until lunch. Then something sad happened, I broke my favorite shoe . . . well, not that I favor the left one over the right but it was one shoe from my favorite pair. I didn’t let it frustrate me too much, grabbed my tennis shoes and headed out the door for the cute little town of Louisville.

In Louisville I met at The Bittersweet Cafe for my interview which lasted an hour and half. Unlike putting on my shoes, the interview went very well and ended with a job offer. I told him I’d get back to him in a few days with my answer. I’m pretty sure I’ll accept since it sounds like there is a lot of potential for more hours and higher pay if I do my job well. At the end of the interview he told me I reminded him of his little sister… I’ve gotten that a few times recently. It feels strange to be told you look like someone you’ve never met.

We returned to the apartment sick of shopping and all the traffic, especially after getting stuck in a traffic jam in the Target parking lot. I didn’t even know it was possible to have a traffic jam within a parking lot but apparently all you need is one very selfish person and a few cars. I think I did pretty well driving for the first time in Boulder though, we’re still alive. We’re happy about that. Maybe next spring I’ll be a pro at city driving.

We were very glad to have leftover soup from last night ready for supper tonight but we changed it up by adding newly-bought corn chips and sour cream.

I am now watching the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants. I didn’t think I’d ever be watching this movie because I thought it would be the lamest thing ever but I actually like it pretty well, imagine that! Alise likes it a lot so I trusted her taste.

Well, that’s about it for this evening. Tomorrow we’re hoping to go up into the canyon for a picnic before we’re into the full swing of things in the next couple weeks.

Leave a Reply

