My thoughts on “Life of Pi”

8.25.10

A man tells the author (Yann Martel) that Pi’s story will make him believe in God. For the curiosity about that statement alone I read the book. As I was reading it though, I was disappointed because it really didn’t seem to talk about God or his faith very much, it was a story about a boy who was shipwrecked and drifted around at sea for a very long time.

Parts of the story are pretty sickening; animals rip each other apart and Pi eats pretty disgusting things when he’s stuck in the Pacific. There is some good humor in the book though, so that lightens things up a bit.

By the end of the story I really didn’t like it because it was so unbelievable. I wanted to believe it because it was such a good story but I wasn’t sure if I could. A few minutes later I completely changed my mind about the book; I like it very much! For you to know why I changed my mind you’ll just have to read it because I don’t want to give the ending away. I do recommend it.

Leave a Reply

