Autumn in a small mountainside town

Autumn is breezing into this Colorado town, laying mist around the mountains and striping the trees with warm colors before blowing the leaves off onto the ground to crunch under boot-clad feet.

I hope to always remember how I felt today: sitting outside the café listening to the soft notes of rich music as the air nipped at my fingers; I held my deliciously warm cup of hot chocolate tighter, pulled my sweater so one side would overlap the other, and kept my book close. Few people were out but those who were all felt the crispness of fall just as much as I did, I’m sure. Everyone seemed joyful at the promise of crunchy leaves, warm houses, thick socks, and happy holidays coming up. The air was clear, everything seemed clear in that moment. Autumn holds a lot of promise and I was content.

Leave a Reply

