Is Jesus a Part of Your Busy Life?

Here’s a video I came across today that comes very nicely after finishing my story.

4 responses to “Is Jesus a Part of Your Busy Life?

  1. Hmm. The part that resonates for me is determining whether placing God “first” is a reality or just a nice idea. She makes a valid point.

    Let’s be honest: even in listening to this message, it’s not hard for people to be stirred to vocalize commitment, but inevitably purity is less about making bold statements about God’s place in our lives, and more about placing ourselves on the altar for daily consecration.

    If someone had asked me five years ago if I would give up Facebook and video games for God, I would have said, “Sure,” all the while considering it a theoretical question that did not require a radical response. The next day I would continue giving these activities more time than Him, and I would justify my behavior since He didn’t ask it of me and it wasn’t explicitly harmful.

    These activities no longer have a place in my life. Are they bad? No. They’re merely common. While there’s nothing inherently wrong with the majority of common things, common is still the opposite of holy.

    I could never make a theoretical commitment to give up common things and expect to keep it. Rather, it was through filling my life with holy things that I eliminated the distractions. The man who sat in solitude could have just as likely returned to a cluttered life; it was because he sought the Lord in confinement that common things were no longer a satisfactory replacement.

    People have idols because they do not prioritize well, but more so because they view their idols as an adequate (and easier) substitute for holy things. The rich young ruler gave Jesus his time and made flattering statements about Him, but the man’s idol was exposed through the satisfaction he received from it. Had Christ not asked him to give up his money, it wouldn’t have been less an idol.

    I think giving up our idols is an important thing, but it is secondary to filling our lives with Christ. If we do the latter and find the richness of His Spirit, the idols seem ridiculous in comparison; we disregard them by default. We completely lose our appetite for common things when we taste of His goodness. If we haven’t…it’s because we haven’t.

    Thus, I raise a different question than whether we’re theoretically willing to give up our comforts — are we ready to ask for and receive the fullness of His Presence?

    • I’m glad to hear your thoughts and I completely agree with you. It’s running after God in the midst of life that’s important and when we’re able to do this we will also find him in solitary confinement.

      At the same time as you were writing this I sat in my living room thinking about the difference between vocalizing bold statements and actually living out what I say. I am going to start walking the talk more than I have before.

      I don’t expect people to give up social networking or whatever else they do all the time and I don’t want this message to be guilting them to do so. I am hoping they realize that Jesus is enough, not that he has to be the only good part of their lives, but that he would be part of their lives in the first place.

      Good question, “Are we ready to ask for and receive the fullness of His Presence?” even if we spent all day every day reading the bible and praying but we weren’t ready to say “yes” to this question we wouldn’t be gaining much.

Leave a Reply

