“When I grow up I want to be an author”

Becoming a writer (which I am trying to accomplish) has always been in the process for me. I don’t know when I decided that’s what I wanted. I think it’s just one of those things I said when I was a little girl . . . “When I grow up I want to be an author” through all these years I have never considered giving it up.

I’m eighteen and it’s time to start seriously trying my hand at it. I’m not studying English, literature or writing classes in college so I’m not very schooled in the art of writing but I know how to put words on a page and I’m finding my voice. What more do I need? I could have a college writing education and not have found my voice but I’d rather have it the way it is. If people like the sound of my words and I have the dedication to put them on the page that’s what’s important.

I spend most of my evenings reading or writing and sometimes reading about writing. This evening it’s been the last. I can’t spend too many nights in a row on the same one so I cycle through each. It’s a great way to relax and still continue to learn. I’m extremely thankful for the time to be able to study like this.

Writing is difficult and recently I have caught myself giving up because I’m just not good enough but then I remind myself how young I am and how much time I have left to learn and improve. Just keep writing I tell myself. And so I am.

I’m not so much of a dreamer that I expect to make a living off my writing but it’s simply what I love. If I write all my life and if don’t earn a penny from it I will still enjoy it.

So no, I never exactly chose what I wanted to do as a young single, I just fell into it . . . and I love it: living in Colorado, going on mission trips during the summer, web design and development, social network marketing, administrative office work, cooking, cleaning, reading, writing and always learning!

3 responses to ““When I grow up I want to be an author”

  1. I think that’s incredibly wise for a woman your age. I’ve never known anyone to become a great writer by going to college. Most schools merely evaluate the writing skills that you already possess — kind of an expensive evaluation. I don’t regret going to school, but I’d probably have done things differently had I known what I know now.

    Good writers become such by reading, writing, and being receptive to constructive criticism. You’re well on your way; stick with it 🙂

    • Thank you for the encouragement Anthony!

      I agree, it is an expensive evaluation. I’ve heard quite a few college graduates say they’re mostly glad they went but would have changed some things looking back. Many young people today automatically go to college straight from high-school as if there is no other choice, spend precious years of their lives there and come away under a mountain of debt and with an education many will never even take advantage of. I think I’d love the college life but I’m learning much from real-life experience, and earning money instead of spending it while I continue to study what I’m interested in. I’d like to someday say, “I was too busy learning to go to college.” 🙂

  2. It took me longer to realise that I was a writer. Not untill a few years ago (when I was 19) did I see it. A teacher brought to light that I had the potential. and it is now what I want for the rest of my life.

    I have a little over a years worth of college. Right now I am working and writing. I love it. Sometimes I feel others look down on me because I am not going to school and I chose a unconventional path. But it is who I am. I know it is who God made me to be — a writer.

    Education is of the utmost importance. But college is not the only way to become educated.
    Keep it up.

    Peace.

Leave a Reply

