A few of my favorite things & what I’m thankful for

Today was a good day. This morning I woke up smiling, thought of happy things like my friend’s birthday and the surprise I was able to make for it, and drove half an hour through beautiful autumn-colored Colorado country for a heart-warming church service with good friends. This afternoon I spent an enjoyable hour in the park reading and taking pictures, otherwise I haven’t been very productive, but that’s okay sometimes.

Here’s a list of my favorite things inspired by this fabulous day in which I had many of these items.

  • Almond extract
  • Ancient, dusty books
  • Artwork created by friends
  • Aspen leaves shivering in the autumn breeze
  • Billy Joel’s lyrics
  • Blue: stones, dishes, doors and butterflies
  • Chocolate pudding cake with whipped cream
  • Charcoal-colored Smart Wool socks
  • Cinnamon dolce lattes
  • Cozy attics
  • Crackling fires of pinewood
  • Down blankets
  • Enthralling stories
  • Fireflies
  • French braids
  • Fuzzy brown blankets
  • Glowing moons
  • Hair ribbons
  • Handwritten letters from friends
  • Hazelnut-vanilla tea
  • Heat bags
  • Hot chocolate
  • Hot, homemade applesauce from home-orchard apples
  • Hot showers
  • Kaleidoscopes
  • Keith Green’s lyrics
  • Kind, silly friends
  • Laughter that seriously impedes my breathing
  • Loving family
  • Nora Jones’ lyrics
  • Phone calls (or texts) from friends when I’m sick simply because I’m sick
  • Secondhand bookshops
  • Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes (not the ones that freeze my eyes shut)
  • Sparkling stars
  • Surprise gifts
  • Sweet potatoes with cinnamon
  • Sweet smelling flowers
  • The truth of Christ (and everything that comes along with it)
  • Warm spring rains
  • White summer dresses
  • Words used artfully
3 responses to “A few of my favorite things & what I’m thankful for

  1. As always, excellent taste in all things life. I’ll be sharing your tunes from my own multi-colored display of His glory.

    [And boo for being sick. Hope you feel better…snap to it with a hot, autumn beverage.]

Leave a Reply

