Priceless Pearls

“I believe the nicest and sweetest days are not those on which anything very splendid or wonderful or exciting happens, but just those that bring simple little pleasures, following one another softly, like pearls slipping off a string.” – L. M. Montgomery

Mom called me yesterday morning and asked for me to make the drive back home so I could be there for something my family was doing today at work. I decided it would work out with my schedule so two hours later I started my long drive home and by 10:00p or so I was at my sister and brother-in-law’s house watching a movie with them and my younger sister.

It’s so good to be back. I felt a little sad to be leaving the beautiful mountains behind to come to dry, flat Nebraska but I didn’t regret my decision. A few days with my family is special no matter where we are and seeing them sure beat seeing the mountains.

We had friends over this evening and it was so refreshing. Speaking with friends around a table, enjoying good food and playing a game are such a good way to spend 4 hours. I, and I think so many people, have become so used to relationships that are comprised of texting, Facebook posts, and maybe an occasional phone call. A hand-written letter or an hour spent at a coffee shop face to face is so rare. There’s nothing wrong with communication using computers or phones, it makes life much easier especially when you live at a distance but these things will never replace the gift of love you give and receive when you’re actually sharing presence with your friends.

My younger sister gave me a gift tonight. It was a 50 cent necklace of a pearl-ish bead encased in a delicate, gold-colored pendant on a gold chain. She picked it up at a thrift shop last summer when we were there together. We both loved the necklace but she saw it before I did so she bought it. I forgot she even had the necklace but when I opened the box I remembered exactly where we found it. She wrapped the jewelry box splendidly in brown paper, string and beautifully written words with a tag she made herself as the little card.

The gift was special because it carries a memory but so much was added to the 50 cent worth from the time she spent on adorning the package. It is the same in friendship. The friendship itself is special but it’s so much more when time and effort are spent cultivating and caring for it by spending time with one another.

The friends I was with this evening are so close they seem like siblings or cousins. These special people are real and genuine. We don’t hide behind masks and talk about petty things. We laugh together and listen intently about each other’s lives. I sat with them this evening just wishing the night could last forever; I was exquisitely happy.

On another note, I had the marvelous chance to hold a five-week old baby today and I was told I was like Disney princesses.

So there are my pearls slowly slipping off my string today.

3 responses to “Priceless Pearls

  1. I enjoyed reading this post so much! The quote at the beginning was a new one to me, It’s very true for me! I’m so glad you liked the gift; the memories that go along with it help to make it special – for both of us!

Leave a Reply

