Stars Among the Black (A Repost)

I read this post last night and like it so much I want to share it with my readers. Anthony Marks from Solomon’s Ledger wrote it a couple days ago.

You can read the full post here.

Over 1300 Earths would be required to fill the volume of Jupiter — it’s surface area is over 120 times the size of our terrain. It is the brightest star of the evening, but from this distance I can easily pinch its area between my thumb and index finger. Even with its might, Jupiter pales in comparison to the reach of God’s full creation.

Because everyone in my circle has been talking about faith, I am reminded of the blessing the Lord bestowed on Abraham. After Abraham willingly places his son Isaac on the altar, the angel of the Lord tells him:

“I swear by myself, declares the Lord, that because you have done this and have not withheld your son, your only son, I will surely bless you and make your descendants as numerous as the stars in the sky and as the sand on the seashore. Your descendants will take possession of the cities of their enemies, and through your offspring all nations on earth will be blessed, because you have obeyed me.” (Genesis 22:16-18)

Bear in mind, Abraham’s faith was not contingent on knowing that this was the payoff. His only hope and reassurance was in a single piece of truth: the same God who has created this vast universe will provide the sacrifice. I consider the desires that He has placed on my heart, and they feel so far away. When I acknowledge that there’s only one wonderful thing on earth that I lack, it pains me to place it on the altar. God doesn’t ask for my money, my career, my location, or my social interests. He knows that these are His. God is jealous for my intimacy because it is the only human thing I value.

Do I trust that the creator of Jupiter, the Big Dipper, and the North Star has provided the sacrifice with my intimacy on the altar? Do I believe that the piece of my heart I’ve held back for a woman would be honored in His hands instead? Provision has been such a tricky animal; He’s offered me just enough to remain in Him, little enough that I continually yearn for heaven. This is indicative of His grace. But I can’t help but wonder: if I trusted Him to provide for every need, wouldn’t I give Him the last of me?

Leave a Reply

