Seeking Guidance (Part 1)

I greatly marvel at God’s spectacular creations by staring up at the stars and moon but I’ve never thought of turning to celestial bodies for answers and advice, as many people do, because I thought it was un-biblical. It occurred to me this afternoon that I don’t know why I believe what I believe on this subject. Belief without having reasons for it results in a pretty weak faith so I began researching what the bible actually says about astrology.

I didn’t go deep into study but here are a few points I came to and verses dealing with the topic:

First, God gives us direction through the bible and when we prayerfully ask him for it, (and here is a good sermon by John Piper about seeking God, how we are to go about it and why we should desire it) but is that the only way we are given direction? Could there be answers in the stars?

Second point: Worshiping the stars displease God–

Isaiah 47:13 “You are wearied with your many counsels; let them stand forth and save you, those who divide the heavens, who gaze at the stars, who at the new moons make known what shall come upon you.”

Deuteronomy 4:19 “And beware lest you raise your eyes to heaven, and when you see the sun and the moon and the stars, all the host of heaven, you be drawn away and bow down to them and serve them, things that the LORD your God has allotted to all the peoples under the whole heaven.”

2nd Kings 2:6 “And he burned his son as an offering and used fortune-telling and omens and dealt with mediums and with necromancers. He did much evil in the sight of the LORD, provoking him to anger.”

Here are a couple other links I found on the topic of what God teaches about astrology. I haven’t read everything in these articles but looking them over I saw some good points.

I wonder if the study of the stars, like so many other good things, is something Satan has twisted into something evil to use for his own ways. Is there a good way to study the stars? Is there symbolic meaning for theology to be found in the stars?

Leave a Reply

