Waiting on God

I wondered what kind of post might be appropriate for Valentine’s Day. I had pretty well decided not to post anything new today, but then I read the following post by one of my friends and changed my mind. Her blog is here: Recklessly Abandoned.

Patience is a virtue.  That’s what they say at least.  I wish it wasn’t a virtue. I wish I never had to wait.

I’m not good at being profound. I’m a little too simple to be profound. But I’m learning to trust. Learning to wait. Learning to recognize that God’s plan truly is what’s best, even if I have to wait.

Looking back on my life, there’s really nothing that I would have changed. I’ve had moments of doubt, questioning God’s plan, but he has always showed up, and his plan has always been much better than mine. 

Waiting silently is the hardest thing of all.  I was dying to talk to Jim and about Jim.  But the things that we feel most deeply we ought to learn to be silent about, at least until we have talked them over thoroughly with God. -Elisabeth Elliot.

Even youth shall faint and be weary, and young men shall fall exhausted; but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint. -Isaiah 40:30-31

I wait for the Lord, my soul waits, and in his word I hope; my soul waits for the Lord more than watchmen for the morning, more than watchmen for the morning. -Psalm 130:5-6

If the Lord Jehovah makes us wait, let us do so with our whole hearts; for blessed are all they that wait for Him.  He is worth waiting for.  The waiting itself is beneficial to us: it tries faith, exercises patience, trains submission, and endears the blessing when it comes.  The Lord’s people have always been a waiting people. -Charles Spurgeon. 

So we do not lose heart.  Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day.  For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen.  For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal. -2 Corinthians 4:16-18

Biblically, waiting is not just something we have to do until we get what we want.  Waiting is part of the process of becoming what God wants us to be. -John Ortberg 

Teach us, O Lord, the disciplines of patience, for to wait is often harder than to work. -Peter Marshall

Are you waiting on God to work? Perhaps He is waiting on you to trust. -Max Lucado

The past few months I’ve learned more patience than many years of my life combined. I’ve hated it at times because it’s hard to learn but I’m joyful for it now. I can look back and see how far I’ve come in some ways and know I’m still growing. I have a new understanding of love, trust, kindness, faithfulness and perseverance that I wouldn’t trade for having what I wanted instantly last summer. God knows me better than I know myself and he knows exactly what I need to develop my character and relationship with him.

I don’t have a Valentine today, but I am content. I have a quiet joy, even though alone–because really, I’m never alone.

Leave a Reply

