6 Months in Boulder

In the past six months I have:

  • Been challenged and stretched as to what I believe and why I believe it.
  • Been trying desperately hard to break my habit of saying as I dream of the future “When I grow up I…” Laurel, reality check: you are grown up. Okay.
  • Become a better driver.
  • Barely missed being in several car accidents (which were not all my fault).
  • Begun a business.
  • Begun a blog.
  • Begun to constantly crave Greek yogurt.
  • Colored my hair.
  • Decorated my very own Christmas tree cut down from in the mountains.
  • Drunk lots of coffee and tea.
  • Eaten fast food only once (and it was Chick-Fil-A so it barely counts).
  • Gotten away with a warning instead of a $150 speeding ticket.
  • Had my first job interview.
  • Ice skated for the first time.
  • Joined a gang (the ‘Philosophy Gang’—that is).
  • Learned much about other world religions.
  • Learned some plumbing skills.
  • Learned to love city life (but I still like the country more).
  • Locked keys in a vehicle for the first time.
  • Lost pretty much any care I had about “fitting in” and being fashionable (because I don’t want to fit in to Boulder and I’d rather wear whatever I like–or maybe I’m just too tired to care).
  • Made lots of wonderful friends.
  • Read 25 books.
  • Rock climbed for the first time.
  • Snow skied for the first time.
  • Taught a Sunday School lesson for the first time.
  • Written 300 pages.
  • Written and told my testimony.
  • Most importantly, I have learned courage, trust, patience, kindness, obedience, forgiveness and love more than I’d known them before and I think I’ve become bolder and more meek.

I don’t know when I’m moving back to Nebraska but my time here in Colorado has been well spent and beneficial for my growth in so many ways, which is what I hoped it would be. It’s going to be extremely hard for me to leave.

Leave a Reply

