Friends, Flowers, and Food

My roommate and I had friends over to our apartment last night. I should have postponed it though because I have a cold. I thought it was getting better and I’d be alright by last night, but this morning I woke up with a massive headache and a much worse cold. I feel so bad for our company; I hope they don’t get sick.

I bought these yellow daisies for my roommate when she was sick a few weeks ago. Yesterday afternoon I added the gerbera daisies to perk up the pretty, but fading bouquet for our company last night. Flowers make me happy today.

Many of our friends wanted to come but had prior plans and several who said they would come couldn’t last minute for one reason or another  so we’re going to give the party a second try in about three weeks, when others are more available. With only four of us last night (two guy-friends from my roommate’s church came) we had a very quiet, relaxing evening of good conversation.

I don’t compare all my friends to actors and actresses, but one of the friends who came over yesterday looks and sounds just like Jack Black. I promise, the Orlando Bloom guy and this one are the only two who I think resemble actors.

For the party last night I made a couple snacks and since I’ve been trying to eat healthily the last several months and the past few weeks have even begun to avoid gluten it was hard to decide which sweet to make for the evening. I’ve missed cookies and chocolaty desserts a lot so I figured having company was a good excuse for a little indulgence.

I looked for a recipe with little or no gluten, and no processed sugar. I found this cookie recipe from the Super Natural Every Day cookbook by Heidi Swanson. They’re delicious, and almost gluten free (there are some rolled oats but no wheat flour) with only a few chocolate chips to splurge on.

I didn’t eat many last night but this morning when I woke up feeling terrible I stumbled into the kitchen and promptly at 2 or 3. The best part is, I can have these for breakfast if I want to and there’s no reason to feel guilty. 🙂

Carnival Cookies

PEANUTS, POPCORN, CHOCOLATE CHIPS

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups well-mashed bananas
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup barely warmed (not solid) extra-virgin coconut oil
  • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup almond meal
  • 1 teaspoon aluminum free baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon fine-grain sea salt
  • 2/3 cup shelled whole peanuts
  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips
  • 1 1/2 cups popped corn

Procedure

  1. Preheat oven to 350 with racks in the top and bottom third of the oven. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the bananas, vanilla, and coconut oil. Set aside. In another bowl, whisk together the oats, almond meal, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt. Add the dry ingredients to the wet, stirring until combined. Fold in the chocolate, then the peanuts, and lastly the popped corn. The dough is looser than a standard cookie dough, but don’t worry.
  3. Firmly shape balls with your hands, about 1 heaping tablespoon each, and place them about 1 inch apart on the prepared baking sheets.
  4. Bake 14-17 minutes, swapping the baking sheets from top to bottom once along the way, until the bottoms are deeply golden. Remove from the oven and allow the cookies to cool on a wire rack. Makes 24 cookies.

Well, calling my mom, writing to my sister, eating, taking a couple pictures and blogging was about as much energy as I had so far today so it’s back to bed for me.

Leave a Reply

