The Last of the Mohicans

I’m home alone this weekend, which is new for me. I’m away from all my family and now even my longtime friend and roommate returned to Nebraska to visit her family. I never thought I’d like living all alone, and I don’t really. It’s too quiet.

This evening I watched The Last of the Mohicans. I’ve heard the story is great, but I’ve been holding off on watching the movie because I wanted to read the book first. My copy of the book is in my bedroom in Nebraska though, so I just gave in tonight and watched the movie. I was so curious about the story.

It’s sure on my list of top ten favorite movies now. Daniel Day-Lewis did an amazing job as the warrior-poet Hawkeye and I’d love to be like Cora, I felt like her as I was watching the movie. She’s so inspiring, strong, brave and feminine.

My favorite line in the movie is what Hawkeye tells Cora behind the waterfall, just before he leaves her.

You be strong, you survive… You stay alive, no matter what occurs! I will find you. No matter how long it takes, no matter how far, I will find you.

I won’t say exactly what happened so I won’t spoil the story for anyone, but toward the end it became so sad I sat here in my living room crying quite a bit–just from a movie! Not like me. I guess I was absorbed.

Leave a Reply

