My Life of Reading

I’m reading Walk in the Light and Twenty-Three Tales by Leo Tolstoy now. A friend of mine suggested it, and I’m really enjoying it. The stories are simple and full of truth.

I was curious as to when I read Mere Christianity and The Screwtape Letters for the first time when a friend of mine began reading these books a few days ago. These two, aside from Till We Have Faces, are the first two books by C. S. Lewis I ever read. I searched my computer files to find the answer and while rummaging I uncovered something I’d forgotten. I used to keep track of all the books I read each year. My sisters and I had incentive for reading; “read 10 books” we were told, “and receive a treasure from the school’s ‘treasure box.’” So that’s why I kept track.

I seem to be missing lists for 2007, 2008, and 2009 (probably because I read much less and worked much more those years). Holy mackerel though! I quickly added up how many books I’ve read in the six years and four months I have kept track of and it came to 297! No wonder I had few friends growing up because what else could I have had time for with all that reading? In 5th grade I even kept track of how many pages I read. I recorded over 17,000.

Should I celebrate when I’ve finished 3 more since I will have read 300 in fewer than 7 years?

I think I can safely say I love to read.

Leave a Reply

