Words take much room

I was writing a letter to a friend of mine the last few days. By the end of the first draft it was about 3 pages. I came back to it the next day and it was somewhere between 3 1/2 and 4. Then I noticed it was 4 and left it alone again. I came back a third time planning to shorten it, only to check the page count a little while later to see it had jumped to 6. Why does this happen?! Seriously, words just take up too much space, don’t they? I say exactly what’s on my mind, and try to say it clearly and concisely, but then why are there so many papers full of words?

Here you go Friend. I haven’t seen you in awhile… here’s a book I wrote for you.

That’s not how it’s supposed to go, is it?

2 responses to “Words take much room

  1. How’s it supposed to go? I savor stuff like that. I was revisiting some old letters I had tucked away recently, and stumbled upon a 14 pager. All I could think to myself was, “Wow, I can’t imagine how much someone must’ve missed me to place that kind of time into a letter!” But then, quality time is my love language, so I’m biased. 🙂

    • Maybe it is okay then. I think a lot of people just look at a stack of papers and think . . . “What, is she crazy for writing so much?” Maybe it’s because I talk less. If others were to write out everything they said all day long it would be much longer than my letters are. 🙂 14 pages is long, I think around 7 is my record. I do think it would be fun receiving a letter so long. I think the longest letter I’ve received is just 3 or 4 pages.

Leave a Reply

