Getting to know someone

I’m thinking of The Little Prince tonight because this quote won’t leave my mind alone:

“It took me a long time to learn where he came from. The little prince, who asked me so many questions, never seemed to hear the ones I asked him. It was from words dropped by chance that, little by little, everything was revealed to me.”

It’s hard for me to let someone know me well, but I am allowed to know others well because I’m filled with questions for them and they’re usually happy to answer them. People intrigue me. I want to know people deeply and personally and to understand life. Life and humanity are such interesting and expansive things to study about though, I guess that’s why I come with so many questions. I must be more careful though, I’ve recently learned my questions sometimes push new friends away. How sad this has made me. So many parts of life need careful balancing.

If only we could go back sometimes and change our actions . . . but as Henry Wadsworth Longfellow wrote, “Look not mournfully into the past, it comes not back again. Wisely improve the present, it is thine. Go forth to meet the shadowy future without fear.”

Leave a Reply

