Wonderful Grace of Jesus

Last night I arrived back home from spending a few days in the Rocky Mountains with over a hundred young men and women from Lincoln Berean Church for fall break. I had an absolutely marvelous time getting to know some friends better, making new friends, worshiping Jesus together, discussing our relationship with Christ, learning more about what it means to live an authentic Christian life, playing games, hiking and completely enjoying the mountain beauty we were surrounded by.

The most beautiful sight I saw on the trip was during the middle of Monday night. I took a sleeping bag and pillow outside with me and hiked up the mountainside a little ways to sleep with about twenty others from the group so we could see the sunrise in the morning. The sunrise was very nice, but what I thought was more stunning were the countless bright shining stars. My friends and I watched the sky for only a few minutes before dropping off to sleep and we counted ten shooting through the sky. What a beautiful sight during a cold night on a mountainside!

My favorite song we sang the past few days is a rewritten version of the hymn written in 1918 by Haldor Lillenas called The Wonderful Grace of Jesus. I’m pretty sure the rewritten version is done by Nathan Partain. I want to join over a hundred voices singing this as loud as they can all the time–I think it was a wonderful, mighty sound for Jesus to hear. It makes me excited for heaven when we can all sing praise to him all the time. This is one of my all-time favorite songs now. Here are the words:

The wonderful grace of Jesus, greater than all my sin;
How shall my tongue describe it, where shall its praise begin?
Taking away my burden, setting my spirit free;
The wonderful grace of Jesus reaches me.

The wonderful grace of Jesus, reaching a mighty host,
By it I have been pardoned, saved to the uttermost,
Chains have been torn asunder, giving me liberty;
The wonderful grace of Jesus reaches me.

More patient than my fight, more faithful than my doubt,
Persistent though I run, O how his grace abounds!
Broader than my sin, deeper than my shame,
Stronger than my evil, O praise Jesus name!

The wonderful grace of Jesus, reaching the most defiled,
By its transforming power, making him God’s dear child,
Purchasing peace and heaven, for all eternity;
The wonderful grace of Jesus reaches me.

More patient than my fight, more faithful than my doubt,
Persistent though I run, O how his grace abounds!
Broader than my sin, deeper than my shame,
Stronger than my evil, O praise Jesus name!

The wonderful grace of Jesus, greater than all my sin;
How shall my tongue describe it, where shall its praise begin?

One response to “Wonderful Grace of Jesus

Leave a Reply

