Overnight Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

Last night I was sleepy, tired of working on my computer, and very hungry. After supper I still needed something to snack on, but I didn’t know what to make. So to my Pinterest board I went! (I love the convenience of pinning recipes I find on blogs, and then looking through my file later when I have a chance to cook or bake.) Scanning over my board I saw I had pinned three different pumpkin pie oatmeal recipes… I guess the flavor idea appeals to me. 🙂 So even though I couldn’t eat it last night (since it’s crucial the oats soak overnight) I mixed up this recipe and had it ready to go this morning.

I’m a night person so getting out of my bed in the morning is one of the hardest tasks of the day. One of the biggest incentives I’ve found though for getting myself up and out of that comfy bed in the morning is knowing there’s a warm, nutritious, and simple breakfast available for me. This morning I had that breakfast with very little time spent tending it. I actually took the mixture to work with me this morning to bake there and then share with some of my co-workers, but what also works nicely is to have it baking at home while you’re taking your morning shower and getting ready to head out the door before driving to work.

So, on the tail of my post about Increasing Digestive, Flavor, Scent & Aesthetic Qualities I want to share with you this recipe that uses the soaking technique for oats and flax. I adapted it from Katie Goodman’s Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal at Good Life Eats. The photo on this page is from her website. This recipe is delicious for a warm breakfast or dessert.

(Makes 6 servings)

Overnight Soaker:

  • 1 c. oat groats, flaked
  • 2 T. rye flour
  • 1 T. whole flax seeds
  • 2 T. whole chia seeds
  • 1 c. filtered water
  • 2 T. buttermilk, cultured yogurt, or kefir
  • 1/2 t. vanilla
  • 1/2 t. lemon zest

Pumpkin Pie Flavor:

  • 2 T. organic brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 t. cinnamon
  • 1/4 t. allspice
  • 1/8 t. nutmeg
  • 1/4 t. salt
  • 2 t. butter, softened
  • 3/4 c. pumpkin puree
  • 3/4 c. milk (coconut, almond, or dairy)

Topping:

  • 1/4 c. pecans, chopped
  • 2 t. butter, softened
  • 1 T. organic brown sugar

Combine all soaker ingredients together, cover and leave on countertop for 6-12 hours. Mixing this up the evening before you want the oatmeal for breakfast, works well.

Mix the pumpkin pie flavor ingredients together well. This can either be done at the same time as the soaker, or once the soaker has sat for 6-12 hours (overnight). If mixing at the same time as the soaker, refrigerate the pumpkin mixture until the soaker is ready to be used.

After 6-12 hours of soaking the oats preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

Pour the pumpkin mixture into the soaked oat mixture. Stir until combined.

Divide mixture evenly between six ½-cup ramekins. Place ramekins on a baking sheet (which makes it easier moving the ramekins in and out of the oven). Bake at 375 degrees F for 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, combine the ingredients for the topping. After the oatmeal has baked for 10 minutes, remove and divide topping mixture evenly between the ramekins. Bake an additional 7-15 minutes (until the mixture has set).

Cool for 5 minutes before serving. Top with a splash of milk, coconut cream, or whipped cream if desired.

Leave a Reply

