Itsy Bitsy or Sixty?

“It was June, and the world smelled of roses. The sunshine was like powdered gold over the grassy hillside.” . . . and it was time to shop for swimwear. Oh. Joy.

In what I choose to swim in, just like the rest of my wardrobe, I want to look both attractive and modest, but when it comes to swimwear this can be difficult. I thought finding a basic one-piece suit or modest tankini that I like, when shopping online, would be a cinch, but no (I forgot to include “young” in the mental shopping list.) Almost all the options I found were for middle-aged to senior citizen swimmers. Nice options for them, but not as workable for me. I just don’t need the tummy control tops right now.

For young women in the same predicament as I found myself in, you may want to check out places like Boden USA, or JCrew. Their options are certainly pricey, but I did find a few classy swimwear options (mixed in with their bikinis).

Speaking of bikinis, tonight I watched this video by Jessica Rey from Rey Swimwear. I found Jessica’s speech about the evolution of the swimsuit informative, interesting, and thought-provoking. Like she says “We’ve certainly come a long way. From practically wearing a house . . . 36 square feet . . . to wearing about 36 square inches of fabric.”

In the world of swimwear, small is often beautiful, but for designer/actress Jessica Rey, bigger is better.  Her motto is: “Who says it has to be itsy bitsy?”  Inspired by fashion icon Audrey Hepburn, Jessica hopes to capture Audrey’s sense of style, grace, class, and fun.  She has seamlessly sewn together contemporary fashion with vintage glamor.  Established in May 2008, Rey Swimwear has international presence in over 19 countries and is rapidly growing thanks to YOU!  Happy shopping! — Rey Swimwear Team

I wish I had known of Rey Swimwear a few days ago, I might have tried out a suit of hers. Aren’t they classy?

DSC_0724_large

So after shopping longer than I wished to on Sunday afternoon, I made a few purchases, and am now waiting expectantly for them to arrive. I hope something will work perfectly for kayaking and camping with friends this summer!

Do any of my young women readers have suggestions for modest swimwear stores?

One response to “Itsy Bitsy or Sixty?

Leave a Reply

