Simple Autumnal Beauty

Elaini, over at miss elaini ous’ blog posted photos today of the beautiful flower crown she made with flowers she gathered on a walk with her mom. I thought the crown was so beautiful she inspired me to try my own once I got home from work this evening. I stepped outside with my little snips and great anticipation. The weather was gorgeous this evening! The air smells sweet, as if the land has a special autumnal fragrance . . . and I’d like to sit out in the garden for hours to soak it all in.

“Delicious autumn! My very soul is wedded to it, and if I were a bird I would fly about the earth seeking the successive autumns.” – George Eliot

The heat of August has taken its toll on the Nebraskan flowers in our yard, so I had no sweet peas, Queen Ann’s lace or phlox to gather, like my beautiful friend, but I wove together what I could find. Really, it’s quite edible. There are stems of mint, oregano, broccoli blossoms, and a real pea . . . then I finished it off with a little butterfly bush.

I came inside, hoping my sister would be a willing model, and that she’d let me borrow her camera since I left mine at work. She agreed to both, and we slipped outside to snap a few photos in the fading light before our mom had supper on the table.

DSCN0859DSCN0870 DSCN0880

“Life starts all over again when it gets crisp in the fall.” – The Great Gatsby

4 responses to “Simple Autumnal Beauty

Leave a Reply

