Let’s dance under the stars…

Here’s poetry and thoughts I wrote two years ago (November 15, 2011) about, and to, my future husband. I’d like to share them with you today. Bear in mind please, I am no poet.

My darling,
My heart is bursting to tell you more,
but for now this is all I have to give;
wherever you are, think of me now
and hear these whispering words–
I’m sending them on the wind.
I close my eyes and see you in my dreams,
I see your sparkling smile in the stars,
I hear your voice in the swaying pines,
and my heart is always beating
the silent song–
“I love you, I love you, love you.”
Tears fill my eyes when I wish and wonder,
these many dark and lonely nights;
I bury my head in the pillow
and dream you are somewhere near.
Someday when I open my eyes
You’ll be holding me in your arms;
I’ll know who you are and
my favorite melody will be your laughter.
Let’s dance tonight, My Love,
under the golden stars in our dreams,
for that’s the only place called “ours”
until the morning of sweet embrace.

I expect it to be far more difficult writing love letters to a person I know the face of than writing to this “anonymous one,” as I do now. I will be scared of showing him my true feelings, I am sure. That’s probably a good feeling though; it will help our relationship develop slower, like it should. So for me it is easier writing to the void right now, knowing that someday I will probably be very much in love with a person right beside me who will read these letters and poetry I’ve written these past years.

In a way I wish these letters to my beloved could magically appear in his mailbox, as I write them, and that he could send his thoughts to me before we even know who each other are. I know we both think of each other, but it would be so encouraging to hear him say, “I love you, I’m waiting with such excitement to meet you, I’m becoming a more godly man and learning so much right now… and I know you’re amazing.”

Dear You, I love you very much, and I look forward to meeting you someday too.

Leave a Reply

